Broward County recorded 32,595 auto accidents in 2013. While this accounts for a small percentage of the state’s accidents, Broward County still has one of the highest auto accident rates in Florida. Fort Lauderdale tops the list of cities in the county with 5,559 accidents. Only Miami-Dade had more accidents in 2013. If you or a loved one has suffered serious injuries in an accident, attorney in Fort Lauderdale, Hyram Montero has the experience and track record you need to file a successful personal injury claim.
Our law offices helps injured Florida residents with many types of car accidents, including but not limited to the following.
- Crashes caused by a drunk driver.
- Hit and run accidents.
- Accidents caused by distracted drivers.
- Car accidents caused by road debris.
- Auto accidents caused by defective road design.
To learn if you have a viable claim, call 954-767-6500 to request a free initial consultation. Depending on the details of your accident, retaining our firm could mean the difference between receiving a small settlement from an insurance company or a larger amount from a lawsuit.
Florida’s Personal Injury Protection and Vehicle Damage Insurance Laws
Florida requires all motor vehicle owners to carry at least $10,000 in personal injury protection insurance. This insurance is intended to pay for the medical costs and lost pay of injured drivers and passengers. Only nine other states require personal injury protection insurance. This type of policy is also known as no-fault driver’s insurance.
Florida’s no-fault insurance system essentially means that you turn to your insurance provider for compensation when an injury occurs. In some cases, you may pursue compensation from the other driver’s insurance company, but Florida law only allows injured parties to pursue compensation outside of the no-fault system when the accident causes:
- Permanent physical injuries;
- Significant scarring or disfigurement; or
- Permanent loss of important bodily functions.
Even though Florida has a no-fault insurance system for physical injuries, drivers can file at-fault claims to cover the cost of replacing or repairing damaged vehicles and other property.
While no-fault insurance can provide quick payments to injured people, not everyone obeys the law. In fact, Florida has one of the highest numbers of uninsured drivers in the country. The latest projection estimates that 28 percent of Florida drivers do not have insurance. The national average is about 16 percent.
The limitations of no-fault insurance can make it difficult for people to receive the compensation they need to recover from physical injury. If, for instance, the cost of medical treatments exceeds the amount covered by insurance, an injured person may need to pay out of pocket.
Statute of Limitations for Auto Accident Lawsuits in Florida
If you want to pursue financial compensation for medical bills or vehicle damage, you must file your lawsuit within four years of the accident. This statute of limitations applies to all accidents, even when they involve scooters, motorcycles, bikes or similar vehicles. Failing to file your suit within four years of the accident’s date means the judge will almost certainly dismiss the case without awarding any compensation.
The statute of limitations shortens for lawsuits involving wrongful death. If you want to pursue financial compensation for an accident that resulted in someone’s death, then you must file your suit within two years of that person’s death. Notice that Florida law does not require you to file the suit within two years of the accident. When a death occurs, the clock does not start counting until the injured person dies.
Getting Legal Help After an Auto Accident
Florida’s insurance system can be confusing. You don’t have to go through the claims process alone. Our firm will protect your right and ensure that you are treated fairly until a fair settlement is achieved. Call us today at 954-767-6500.