How long do I have to see a doctor after a car accident?
You should see a doctor for treatment of your injuries within 14 days of a car accident in Florida. If you delay past 14 days, your personal injury protection (PIP) car insurance will not cover your medical bills and you will have to pay for your treatment out of your own pocket.
What if I did not know about my injury right away?
Sometimes it can take several days before injuries show up after a car accident. If you then delay in calling the doctor for a few days and cannot schedule an appointment within the 14-day deadline, you may run out of time. In a situation like this, go to an urgent care center or an emergency room to get your initial medical care. Make sure that the urgent care or emergency room doctor refers you back to your regular physician for follow-up care.
Are there rules regarding who can treat my injury?
The Florida statutes on PIP coverage includes a list of acceptable doctors to provide, supervise, order, or prescribe your care and treatment, if they are properly licensed under the applicable Florida laws. These include:
- Osteopathic physicians;
- Chiropractic physicians;
- Physician assistants; and
- Advanced registered nurse practitioners.
For follow-up care, you may visit the following types of healthcare providers, if licensed under the appropriate Florida law:
- A hospital or ambulatory surgical center;
- A healthcare entity wholly owned by a physician or by a physician and their family member;
- A hospital-owned healthcare entity;
- A licensed physical therapist; or
- An accredited, licensed healthcare clinic.
What benefits does my PIP plan cover?
PIP coverage will pay 80% of your medical, surgical, x-ray, dental, and rehabilitative services. Your PIP plan should cover the cost of hospital, ambulance, and nursing services, as well as the cost of prosthetic devices, as long as these services were medically necessary. This is, of course, only if you receive your initial medical services within 14 days after the car accident. If a medical provider determines that you did not have an emergency medical condition, PIP reimbursement may only cover up to $2,500.
PIP coverage will not reimburse your expenses for certain alternative treatments like massage or acupuncture, regardless of the provider or their licenses.
What is the minimum amount of PIP coverage benefits and who can receive them?
PIP coverage must provide up to $10,000 in medical and disability benefits and $5,000 in death benefits for an injury, illness, or death that results from a motor vehicle accident.
PIP coverage provides protection to the person named on the insurance policy, as well as relatives who reside in the same household, anyone driving the insured vehicle, passengers, and any pedestrians or cyclists the vehicle may strike.
The car accident lawyers at the Montero Law Center can help you.
If you need help with your car accident injury claim, call the Montero Law Center today at 954-767-6500. Our attorneys have experience dealing with PIP coverage cases and will work to get you the compensation you need. Call now to schedule a free consultation.